Romans 9:10-19 – September 23

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 9:10-19 – God’s Sovereign Choice

10 Not only that, but Rebekah’s children were conceived at the same time by our father Isaac. 11 Yet, before the twins were born or had done anything good or bad—in order that God’s purpose in election might stand: 12 not by works but by him who calls—she was told, “The older will serve the younger.” 13 Just as it is written: “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.”

14 What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! 15 For he says to Moses,

“I will have mercy on whom I have mercy,
    and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”

16 It does not, therefore, depend on human desire or effort, but on God’s mercy. 17 For Scripture says to Pharaoh: “I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” 18 Therefore God has mercy on whom he wants to have mercy, and he hardens whom he wants to harden.

19 One of you will say to me: “Then why does God still blame us? For who is able to resist his will?”

 

Does God Have Favorites? | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Romans 9:14-15

Observation

As Paul had many questions, so do I. We were just talking in life group about God showing favoritism to certain people or certain groups of people.  I have a lot of questions about it.  And in these verses, God answers some of these questions. “What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! For he says to Moses, ‘I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, & I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.'” (vs. 14-15) There are several places in the Bible that talk about this. The story of the farmer who pays all the workers the same amount no matter how long they worked–it’s the farmer’s decision not the workers on how much they are paid.  I read a few more verses in getting the answers God was telling me. The verse that really got me was verse 20: “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? [Yikes] Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?'” Paul is saying that God created us and it’s his decision, and only God knows fully what purpose we each serve.
Application

Verse 21: “Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?” (To me) some people get noble gifts like singing, speaking, and leadership and others like me ( still trying to figure out my gifts), maybe the gift of helping?  Overall I think God is telling me even though I don’t understand why some things are the way they are, just believe He does all things for good and He knows what He’s doing!

Prayer

Dear God, Thank You for answering some of my questions and helping me understand that some questions I will never understand until I see You in heaven. Thank You for creating me and each of us with different gifts, all for the purpose of furthering Your kingdom.

Posted on September 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. All of this what came first the chicken or the egg stuff is making my head explode! But I know what came first–God. I agree, Rebecca, there’s so much I will never know, but not just that, I don’t need to know. In verse 16, Paul states that it does not depend on human desire or effort but on God’s mercy. My first thought was that seems unfair that someone who desires God wouldn’t get God’s mercy. But does that type of person exist? I don’t think so. God’s mercy is what gives us the desire for God and the desire to please Him. A hardened heart won’t go there.

    I remember in college I was trying so hard to logically find the answer to everything, including if God exists; I am a scientist, after all. He placed that desire to know Him in my heart before I was born, and that’s why I was trying to find Him, though through my brain at that time rather than through my heart. After college, when I found Him through my heart, I became a believer, and He freed me from that pursuit of knowing everything and put me in my place as His created, not His lab assistant. Thank You for Your mercy, God!

    Like

  2. So humbling! What an inheritance!

    Like

  3. It’s heart breaking. I wholly believe in God’s perfect justice. I also know that it is my job to share the good news with everyone I can. But it is heart breaking to come up against hardened hearts and see them reject God. But even as I type this the Spirit reminds me that this is what I pray and ask for: a heart after God’s own heart. If it breaks my heart to see people not experience grace and mercy how much more it must break His heart. *sigh* Please God make me faithful in each moment knowing that your perfect plan, mercy and grace are being worked out and give your perfect peace and strength to continue on despite the discouragement.

    Like

Leave a Response

