Romans 9:1-9 – September 22

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 9:1-9

Paul’s Anguish Over Israel

I speak the truth in Christ—I am not lying, my conscience confirms it through the Holy Spirit— I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were cursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my people, those of my own race, the people of Israel. Theirs is the adoption to sonship; theirs the divine glory, the covenants, the receiving of the law, the temple worship and the promises. Theirs are the patriarchs, and from them is traced the human ancestry of the Messiah, who is God over all, forever praised! Amen.

God’s Sovereign Choice

It is not as though God’s word had failed. For not all who are descended from Israel are Israel. Nor because they are his descendants are they all Abraham’s children. On the contrary, “It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.”In other words, it is not the children by physical descent who are God’s children, but it is the children of the promise who are regarded as Abraham’s offspring. For this was how the promise was stated: “At the appointed time I will return, and Sarah will have a son.”

 

Where did my passion go? | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Romans 9:2

Observation

You’ve convicted me today and stirred up some deep emotions within me. I haven’t had these kinds of thoughts and feelings in almost four (4) years. Though not as good as Paul (the old compare game, right?), his willingness to go to hell in return for others’ salvation, my heart only bled and grieved for others. I want to pause and give thanks to our God overall – he already did all of this for us – whew.

In that time, I had cried out daily, and I mean daily, – face on the church floor, tears flooding down my face as I looked up at the cross just pleading for You to come, for the evil to go away and for eyes to be turned to You. There was such sadness, such brokenness, that I so badly wanted to fix. I knew I couldn’t fix it on my own, but with You – it was possible and I was sure going to try! I was deeply burdened and grieved by the overwhelming amount of people that I was coming in contact with. They didn’t even know about You, and they believed the horrendous lies that the way they were living was the only option – NO, THAT’S THE LIE!

I could feel Paul’s intensity and could relate – these were my own people too! What was going to happen to all of them?

When I began this chapter – the content was completely over my head (or was it); I felt it was encrypted and asked God why He had given it to me. Since His Sovereign-ness, in this sense, truly is, I believe something on a “God level”. Or maybe I wanted it to be – sidestepping the fact that verse 2 was indeed what He was wanting me to post about today.

You made me dig deep today and took me to a place of bitterness and love – an old passion that I missed, one that You’ve created me to have. That inward look revealed that I have grown bitter. I loved a job that didn’t love me back. The job gave me the opportunity to do Your great commission, but with loss of the job, I guess, went the loss of the passion.

Application

Looks like I have some more internal assessing to do! This goes deep – yikes – it’s been needing to be stirred. Salvation – has just been Disney-Fastpassed to URGENT…

Prayer

Father, I come to You today and ask why I have lost my passion for others’ salvation; moreover though – with urgency, I ask that You restore my passion to lead them to You. You not only call us but command us to pray – I know I have fallen short for way too long, please forgive me. Please heal my heart of the brokenness and bitterness – not only for my loss, but the loss of my being a part of Your “big plan” to help lead others who have not heard Your goodness. In Your Sovereign name…Amen.

Posted on September 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Can I suggest an answer to your question in the title of your post, Dyea? I think your passion went into a little boy named Grayson, and quite a bit into Kenzie too. It’s still there but laser-focused on him in this season.

    Like

  2. Becky, you know I’m not going to argue with you there! Your post, it made me chuckle – I though those selfish little beings – all their sin nature, in their sin state – taking away others salvation. Ha totally kidding – I had to find a little humor today.

    Like

  3. I declare for now and all time, I’d like to be referred to as “child of the promise”. There’s such love and expectancy in that title! Israel failed to be faithful in sharing the promise so that privilege passed to all of us. (Do I ever look on the sharing as a privilege?!). Passion? Yes. I know what you mean. I have known that ache intimately of losing my passion. But remember that promise from last chapter? He’s working all things together for good? He does that from an eternal perspective. Lord again today I ask that you would help me to see this life from your perspective, to lean on your promises and be faithful to reach each one the best I can with your promises. Take my fear, my doubt and the obstacles in my daily life. Give me a dose of Paul. In your powerful almighty can do anything name JESUS! Amen.

    Like

Leave a Response

