Romans 8:18-25 – September 19

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 8:18-25 – Present Suffering and Future Glory

18 I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. 20 For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope 21 that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.

22 We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. 23 Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. 24 For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? 25 But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

 

Be Careful What You Pray For – God Will Answer | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Romans 8:18

Observation

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us!” (vs. 18) Amen to that!
I had one of those ‘present sufferings’ yesterday. It started on the way home from school. Big sis looked at little sis wrong and little sis started chucking things from the backseat at big sis in the front seat. It ended with everyone yelling, and little sis had to go to her room when we got home which she was not happy about. Soon after we got home, we had to get ready for little sis to go to her first dance class of the school year. So I was trying to hurry and help her get her outfit on (by the way, mad 5 yr olds do not hurry). So, I put her hair up in a ponytail (but did I mention a few days ago she had decided to give herself a haircut?). So, I told her one side was too short and we needed a barrette; of course, she did not want a barrette and she didn’t like how her hair looked so she threw a huge fit.  We finally get to dance. She finally gets out of the car, but once in there, she refuses to go into the class (which she did great in all last year). After me and the teacher trying to get her to go in, I give upl I’m just getting more and more frustrated.  We go home, and we walk in the door, and big sis has 2 pages of story problem math she needs help with. So after she’s yelling that she doesn’t understand it,  I’m done! I start praying. As I’m praying dear God I can’t do this anymore, He very nicely reminded me that yesterday I had prayed asking Him to help me come to Him right away in prayer at the beginning of a struggle instead of waiting!!  God said, “There you go; I answered your prayer, plenty of opportunities to come to Me in prayer.” So, in the middle of math, I just start laughing. My daughter is looking at me like I’m crazy. And God is thinking FINALLY!  So, after that, little sis was playing happily, husband came home, and we made dinner. Thank you to my wonderful husband who helped little sis with bath and put her to bed ( and she let him, thank You, Lord), while big sis and I finally got done with math at 9:30pm.
And when I got in bed with a smiIe on my face, I could say thank You, God, for answering my prayer. ( I did have to add -I’m good now on the trials part, thanks 🙂

Application

Be careful what you ask for! But seriously, even if God’s answers to our prayers aren’t always what we’re hoping for, God knows what He’s doing!  

Prayer

Dear God, Thank You for answered prayer.  Thank You that even though we will have lots of struggles, that the end results, Your amazing glory, will be far greater than anything we can imagine!

Posted on September 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love your story and application, Rebecca! Thanks for sharing a night in the life! Most of our lives resemble the same chaos, yet I am also guilty for not crying out to God in the midst. We talked about how God’s convictions are gentle and loving in moms group on Thursday. How true! He does not condemn for our shortcomings but gently corrects.

    Like

  2. Verses 21 and 22 – So these back pains that wake me up at night and migraines are my soul trying to break free from bondage from my decaying body? No wonder the excedrins not working.

    Like

Leave a Response

