Romans 8:1-8 – September 17

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 8:1-8 – Life Through the Spirit

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.

Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those who are in the realm of the flesh cannot please God.

 

Convicted But Not Condemned | Becky Newman

Scripture

Romans 8:1

Observation

The “therefore” in this verse links chapter 8 to the breadth of the sin theme that Paul’s been talking about since chapter 1. But if we believe in Jesus and what he has done for us, we are not condemned for our sins. This reminds me of the very important verse after the famous John 3:16: “For God did not send His son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:17) Jesus does not hold a whip and give us ten lashes every time we sin; though that’s what we deserve, he is not in the shaming business. He frees us from a life of sin leading to death, and each sin we commit as a believer is another opportunity to experience grace and draw close to God in repentance. Romans 8 is one of the most encouraging chapters in the Bible because it has so much good stuff in it. Our reading plan walks through it pretty slowly, so we’ll be in this chapter for almost a week, slowly digesting what God has for us.

Application

I needed this breath of fresh air after the focus on sin in the first chapters. God’s been revealing a dark place in my heart where I don’t let the Son shine, where bitterness stews which Satan can use to destroy. But He is not condemning me or shaming me for it. He is asking me to bury it at the cross because Jesus took it once and for all and I need to be free of it so that my mind can be set on what the Spirit desires (vs. 5-6) and I can more effectively carry out His work.  AND…as God has not condemned me, I should never condemn others. If I have a judgmental and condemning spirit, then I’m not reflecting God’s character, and I sure ain’t shining Jesus and the reason why he died for us to anyone.

Prayer

God, Your compassion and love for me is  immeasurable and so amazing, that You care about every area of my heart! Thank You for loving me. Help me bury the bitterness, and please guide me and give me courage through the steps.

**There’s super good mom encouragement on the same theme from John 3:17 in the archives of Proverbs 31 Ministry’s daily devotions. Check it out: http://proverbs31.org/devotions/devo/convicted-but-not-condemned/

Posted on September 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Verse 6 is grabbing my attention today : The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace. Let life and peace rule in me – You brought me back into war after a long uncertain pause – I trust in You.

    Like

Leave a Response

