Romans 5:1-11 – September 11

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 5:1-11 – Peace and Hope

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! 10 For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! 11 Not only is this so, but we also boast in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

 

My Trials, My Tribulations, His Timing | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Romans 5:3-4, 6

Observation

I want to get real for a minute. I’ve been struggling with a lot of confusion, uncertainty, and this weird inadequacy feeling lately. I have been hoping and praying that the horrible feelings would just go away; I’ve even pretended they were not there — I’ve got this work thing that just won’t die (totally being bullied); new school routine for my five-year-old (teacher says, “he’s struggling – work with him at home”), and let me add a new school routine for me (teachers grade hard, thank goodness for the ones that feel sorry for me, he-he). There is this ginormous amount of pressure to get everything squeezed into this 24 hours that “man” has so generously allotted – let me say, yeah, the only thing being squeezed right now is me (that’s the character building piece, right?). There is this sense – – not so much a lack of love from Him, more of a lack of faith in Him. I couldn’t help but wonder if I was doing something wrong, wondering why I had been so close for so long and lately feel like I’m so far away, unable to figure out any sort of strategy to get all of that closeness back! I’ve been seeing Matthew 7:7, and today it was Luke 11:9 and shouted out “but I HAVE been asking” and asking, even believing that things will be answered – that being – have I gotten off of Your path since it doesn’t appear to be going very smoothly and there is not any peace!? And then there it was, in verse 6, You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Did you read that; just at the right time?! Light-bulb, I knew that! Wow, how could I forget something like that? Today, being that time, yet once again, He has shown His love and goodness and has reassured me that it’s all going to be okay! Woot woot – there’s that hope!

Application

Today, on a day feeling totally overwhelmed, having to miss mom’s group, having yet to study or spend quality time with You, another day full of more appointments – it was Your perfect timing – for me to face this head on! You already know my heart. I hate when I can’t feel You; I’m not used to that. You’re the only thing that can comfort me. Help me this week to know, just because I can’t feel or hear You – to remember You’re there! So I say, bring the character building, do Your work in me; I have hope – everything is in Your time!

Prayer

Father, I feel silly, but You know how real this is to me. I hate not being able to feel You. It really sounds like I have some abandonment issues – and I do, when it comes to You. You’re the only thing I have, and even though I know You’re not going anywhere, I want You close. On that note, thank You for sending Your son Jesus, for all his love that he so freely gave; he knows my heart – – for he was the one who truly experienced what I have only thought to be feeling lately. I count myself even more blessed – He actually didn’t have You for a time – I never want that. In Your never forsaking and always answering name…Amen.

Posted on September 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for being real with us, Dyea! When God takes us out of our comfort zone, we know it’s time to grow. Kim has shared a couple of times during our study in Romans, placing it in my heart too, that all of what we’re made to do is to glorify God. That is our purpose in this world. In the midst of character building…glorifying God. In the midst of suffering…glorifying God. In the midst of chaos, uncertainty, and doubt…glorifying God. And when it’s easier…not forgetting to glorify God. I’m sharing today’s Proverbs 31 ministry devotion because it, of course, addresses the same subject in glory to God — http://proverbs31.org/devotions/devo/your-life-can-display-gods-power/

    Along the same lines, I like in today’s reading how Paul refers back to boasting. Earlier in the letter to the Romans, Paul talked about not boasting in our actions or in how well we obey the law. What should we be boasting about then? Anything that glorifies God — verses 2 and 11.

    God, help me take today and in every situation and out-of-my-control moment make my actions, words, and thoughts glorify You. I pray the same for Dyea as Your mercies are new every morning, help her to take each day one day at a time and give it to You, all for Your glory, and through Your power, replace those feelings of chaos, uncertainty, and doubt with Your truths that You love her and will be with her wherever she goes. In the powerful name of Jesus, I pray!

    Like

  2. Becky, I love your post today! The devotional hit home and the prayer was so sweet and spot on for what I have been needing, so thank you!!

    I’m starting to think I may have some unyielding and headstrong opinions that I may be standing on and holding on to, which are hindering me from Him- now to be obedient!

    YIKES – it all makes me think of this image (below in the link) — for moments like these…

    Glory to Him — the Beginning, the Way, the End

    Like

  3. Thank you for your honesty! I have to admit that there are many times I don’t feel God. I’ve been there and I know I will be again. Faith is making choices based on a framework understanding of how things work. Some days I’m just going through the motions knowing that at some point He’ll get through to me. (Also realizing that most likely I’m the one getting in God’s way…. Not him ignoring me.)

    Today I’m impacted by the same verses. I have a friend reading Good not God (or is it God not Good?). Anyway, she challenged me tonight with the idea of Lord. The idea of letting Him be Lord of every part of our lives. What does that look like? Then I read these verses about suffering, perseverance, character and hope. That’s when I realize that NONE of these are things I DO exactly. They’re things that happen to me as I am living out my life one day at a time. Suffering? Gonna happen. We don’t usually have much choice but to endure it. This builds character. Not by my doing but by God’s. Each day I give my day to Him and let him be Lord of it all seeking Him first in all I do. Then these other things are done by Him. I just show up.

    At least…. That’s what I think tonight. 😉

    Like

Leave a Response

