Romans 3:9-20 – September 7

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 3:9-20 – No One Is Righteous

What shall we conclude then? Do we have any advantage? Not at all! For we have already made the charge that Jews and Gentiles alike are all under the power of sin. 10 As it is written:

“There is no one righteous, not even one;
11     there is no one who understands;
    there is no one who seeks God.
12 All have turned away,
    they have together become worthless;
there is no one who does good,
    not even one.”
13 “Their throats are open graves;
    their tongues practice deceit.”
“The poison of vipers is on their lips.”
14     “Their mouths are full of cursing and bitterness.”
15 “Their feet are swift to shed blood;
16     ruin and misery mark their ways,
17 and the way of peace they do not know.”
18     “There is no fear of God before their eyes.”

19 Now we know that whatever the law says, it says to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be silenced and the whole world held accountable to God. 20 Therefore no one will be declared righteous in God’s sight by the works of the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of our sin.

 

I’m a Sinner| Becky Newman

Scripture

Romans 3:20

Observation

Paul is building a logical argument block by block. The movie Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure taught me many things, one of those being that the Roman people liked to just stand around and logically argue all the time — you know, like So-crates. God helped Paul get into the heads of his audience.  What was it going to take to spread the Good News among the people of Rome, to make Rome the center of the Christian church? A good argument.  The first building block is clear in verse 20: the law makes us aware that we are all sinners. The most famous verse stating this is in tomorrow’s reading in Romans 3:23.

Application

I don’t need all the proof from verses 10-18 to see that we are all sinners; all I have to do is look around me every day and, don’t forget, to look at myself every day too (i.e., Why did I get so angry? Why am I letting bitterness eat away at my heart? How come pride took over? Why am I jealous of her? Why can’t I stop eating these M&Ms?). Truly, salvation is not about works. It’s the works of obeying the law that makes me realize I’m going to fall short of perfection every single time — hard to stomach for me the perfectionist. I am a sinner in need of a Savior.

Prayer

I come humbly before You, God, as a sinner in need of a Savior. I am sorry for my imperfections but thankful that You love me anyway. Thank You for providing my Savior and forgiving me. Forever remind me that I’m on equal ground with all of the sinners in the world so that I don’t slip into being self-righteous.

Posted on September 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

