Romans 2:17-29 – September 5

This week we are starting six weeks in the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

Romans is a letter to the Christian church in Rome written by the missionary and apostle Paul. God must have revealed to Paul the importance of the church in Rome. Their church was a mix of Jews and Gentiles who probably got into some pretty heated debates over theology. At the time of writing this letter, Paul had not yet visited these Christians, but he shares the basic tenets of the Christian faith in his letter as building blocks to the health of their church.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 2:17-29 – The Jews and the Law

17 Now you, if you call yourself a Jew; if you rely on the law and boast in God; 18 if you know his will and approve of what is superior because you are instructed by the law; 19 if you are convinced that you are a guide for the blind, a light for those who are in the dark, 20 an instructor of the foolish, a teacher of little children, because you have in the law the embodiment of knowledge and truth— 21 you, then, who teach others, do you not teach yourself? You who preach against stealing, do you steal? 22 You who say that people should not commit adultery, do you commit adultery? You who abhor idols, do you rob temples? 23 You who boast in the law, do you dishonor God by breaking the law? 24 As it is written: “God’s name is blasphemed among the Gentiles because of you.”

25 Circumcision has value if you observe the law, but if you break the law, you have become as though you had not been circumcised. 26 So then, if those who are not circumcised keep the law’s requirements, will they not be regarded as though they were circumcised? 27 The one who is not circumcised physically and yet obeys the law will condemn you who, even though you have the written code and circumcision, are a lawbreaker.

28 A person is not a Jew who is one only outwardly, nor is circumcision merely outward and physical. 29 No, a person is a Jew who is one inwardly; and circumcision is circumcision of the heart, by the Spirit, not by the written code. Such a person’s praise is not from other people, but from God.

 

I hope everyone has a relaxing Labor Day weekend!| Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Romans 2:21

Observation

God is saying do you teach one thing but don’t do it yourself? This was a hard one for me because I really had to examine my heart and see the areas I need to work on.  It’s easy to go to church or Bible study and know in my head how God wants me to be. But then going home and ‘practice what I preach’ is harder. Knowing I’m a Christian, my kids, my neighbors…..they see how I act and watch what I do. When I yell “stop yelling” to my kids or tell them not to worship anything but God but then they see me busy on the computer and with other things that take my time away from Him.  Or I tell them all the time not to lie but then say don’t tell dad how much your ballet stuff costs.  And actions do speak louder than words.

Application

I need to wake up each morning and make a commitment to God to ‘practice what I preach.’

Prayer

Dear God, thank You that You teach me something new everyday. Thank You for showing me You love me so
much that every area in my life matters to You.  Thank You that my mom’s heart cath went great; she has no new blockage.  And thank You, Jesus, that my Joslyn didn’t cry on the way into school today for the first time in 3 weeks. Amen.
Posted on September 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you, Rebecca, for updates on your mom and Joslyn! Thank You, God, for answered prayers!!!

    Like

  2. Today’s scripture and Rebecca’s SOAP pose this question in my mind: Am I one of those hypocritical Christians about whom the people who don’t know You talk? There are times when the answer is yes, some times when other people have pointed out to me that the answer is yes. I know that’s not good, and I know I’m not perfect, so in my weakness I know I can only ask You to search my heart: “Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23-24) — Eviction Notice!

    Verse 21a about teaching, that’s one huge way God has taught me and spoken to me through the years, before I started reading His Word daily. I made myself available to Him by volunteering to teach in kids ministry for the last 9 years, and I’m pretty sure He taught me more than He taught the kids. It’s kind of hard to teach something if you don’t get it yourself first. One of those things I taught the kids because it was in my script was to read their Bibles, even though I spent much of those 9 years not reading mine. Thankfully God is kind! He didn’t hit me over the head with a Bible, but He did slip it in here and there and placed me in the women’s group that started the Discover One Thing ministry. Events and circumstances that may have seemed accidental and uncoordinated at the time were actually carefully orchestrated by God because He loves me. He doesn’t want me to be a hypocritical Christian; there’s no shining God’s glory in that. Thank You for loving me, God! Even when I wasn’t asking You to search my heart, You were doing it without my knowledge and leading and guiding me. Thank You!

    Like

  3. Oh, my sweet sister, Rebecca, what a great post and insight….I had a similar epiphany the other day (while on the way to Kim’s no less)…i was yelling at my husband, “why don’t you believe me?” (Trisha had come to pick me up, I had to go back in the house because I forgot my sling, Bob heard the door open and came to the top of the stairs, I told him that I need my sling, i told him where it was and he just stood there pointing to a kid size sling he’d found in the garage). So then it was like Jesus ~whispered~ “why don’t you believe ~Me~” … I knew where the sling was, I put it there myself, nobody else picks anything up and I JUST walked past it…why doesn’t he believe me? Wait, what? Omg does Jesus ~KNOW~ all the stuff behind the scenes and still He chooses to tell us just the easy stuff??? Is ~this~ how He feels when I don’t believe Him? He makes it so simple and just tells us what we need to know: love Him, love others as you love yourself, come and see, go and tell….So all these one liners fly thru my head in a split second and my (wonderful) husband shows up with the sling. I mutter a thank you and goto Kim’s, hearing along the way that we need to pray for our husbands. Yes, of course yes, AND I NEED TO STOP YELLING and start whispering, just like I tell my kids: don’t be so loud, people actually listen when we whisper…I just heard Him whisper, and now I understand deeply that He knows what He’s talking about, so I can really believe Him. “All things work together for the good for those who BELIEVE Him” … isn’t that coming up later in Romans? How can I tell my kids to memorize a verse and its address if I don’t do it myself? Oh, good grief, here we go again…

    Like

Leave a Response

