Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – August 20

Thank you for joining us for a summer in Psalms! We’ll stay in Psalms through the end of August. Since this Bible study is interactive, we need a response from you, what God is laying on your heart, after you read today’s psalm. Just leave your response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be a verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. Please check back! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Discover One Thing ministry uses the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. This interactive study is intended to be a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him using SOAP.

Our next study will be 6 weeks in Romans starting September 1.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 81

For the director of music. According to gittith. Of Asaph.

Sing for joy to God our strength;
    shout aloud to the God of Jacob!
Begin the music, strike the timbrel,
    play the melodious harp and lyre.

Sound the ram’s horn at the New Moon,
    and when the moon is full, on the day of our festival;
this is a decree for Israel,
    an ordinance of the God of Jacob.
When God went out against Egypt,
    he established it as a statute for Joseph.

I heard an unknown voice say:

“I removed the burden from their shoulders;
    their hands were set free from the basket.
In your distress you called and I rescued you,
    I answered you out of a thundercloud;
    I tested you at the waters of Meribah.
Hear me, my people, and I will warn you—
    if you would only listen to me, Israel!
You shall have no foreign god among you;
    you shall not worship any god other than me.
10 I am the Lord your God,
    who brought you up out of Egypt.
Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.

11 “But my people would not listen to me;
    Israel would not submit to me.
12 So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts
    to follow their own devices.

13 “If my people would only listen to me,
    if Israel would only follow my ways,
14 how quickly I would subdue their enemies
    and turn my hand against their foes!
15 Those who hate the Lord would cringe before him,
    and their punishment would last forever.
16 But you would be fed with the finest of wheat;
    with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.”

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Verses 1-2 are my heart this morning! Praising God for the miraculous transformation of my daughter from so weak she couldn’t stand yesterday to standing in line for her first day of Kindergarten today! Yes, I will miss her at home during the day, but she was SO ready for this! God, please make her a light shining Your love to her teacher and classmates and everyone she sees and plays with at school. I pray for good friends for her, and I pray that she will obey her teacher. Thank You for giving her strength! I am singing for joy!

    Like

  2. verses 11 and 12 : But my people would not listen to me; Israel would not submit to me. So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts to follow their own devices.

    …Lord, I cry out, how much longer till that last rams horn sounds?!!

    Like

Leave a Response

