Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – August 3

Thank you for joining us for a summer in Psalms! We’ll stay in Psalms through the end of August. Since this Bible study is interactive, we need a response from you, what God is laying on your heart, after you read today’s psalm. Just leave your response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be a verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. Please check back! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Discover One Thing ministry uses the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. This interactive study is intended to be a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him using SOAP.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 64

For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Hear me, my God, as I voice my complaint;
    protect my life from the threat of the enemy.

Hide me from the conspiracy of the wicked,
    from the plots of evildoers.
They sharpen their tongues like swords
    and aim cruel words like deadly arrows.
They shoot from ambush at the innocent;
    they shoot suddenly, without fear.

They encourage each other in evil plans,
    they talk about hiding their snares;
    they say, “Who will see it?”
They plot injustice and say,
    “We have devised a perfect plan!”
    Surely the human mind and heart are cunning.

But God will shoot them with his arrows;
    they will suddenly be struck down.
He will turn their own tongues against them
    and bring them to ruin;
    all who see them will shake their heads in scorn.
All people will fear;
    they will proclaim the works of God
    and ponder what he has done.

10 The righteous will rejoice in the Lord
    and take refuge in him;
    all the upright in heart will glory in him!

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. From verse 6: “…We have devised a perfect plan!” Surely the human mind and heart are cunning. In high school, I had devised a plan for my life; I was going straight to college for 9 years, coming out of there with a PhD in biometeorology and heading right into a job at the atmospheric research center in Boulder, CO, where I would fund my hiking and camping adventures–a life devoid of seeking God but full of seeking physical pleasures and worldly success. With this plan set in motion, graduating with my B.S. and starting a graduate program with the top biometeorologist in the world in California, all it took was God placing a man in my path to derail my crazy train over the next couple of years so I could look outside of my plans and see there were better things than my stubborn selfishness. And that’s why my life verse became my life verse. Proverbs 3:5-6 – Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight. Never have I looked back and regretted following God’s path rather than following my own. Instead, I proclaim the works of God and ponder what He has done (vs. 9)!

    Like

  2. Psalm 64 lines 3. “They sharpen their tongues like swords and aim their words like deadly arrows.” Lord please help me to speak words that will build up others. I need prayers to help me to be strong in watching what I say when I say it during this next month. My mother and I have just arrived from California. She is staying with me for about a month. I don’t know why I constantly allow myself to be rubbed the wrong way by her words. Please help me to not react, but…well…you understand my needs better than I. Amen

    Like

  3. After writing about plans yesterday, it was my tongue that tripped me up yesterday. I’m with you in that struggle, and I prayed for both of us last night as I cried out for forgiveness.

    Like

Leave a Response

