Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – July 12

Thank you for joining us for a summer in Psalms! This Bible study is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry uses the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to you through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page (i.e., verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, response to another’s comment). Please check back! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 42

For the director of music. A maskil of the Sons of Korah.

As the deer pants for streams of water,
    so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
    When can I go and meet with God?
My tears have been my food
    day and night,
while people say to me all day long,
    “Where is your God?”
These things I remember
    as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go to the house of God
    under the protection of the Mighty One
with shouts of joy and praise
    among the festive throng.

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.

My soul is downcast within me;
    therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
    the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep
    in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
    have swept over me.

By day the Lord directs his love,
    at night his song is with me—
    a prayer to the God of my life.

I say to God my Rock,
    “Why have you forgotten me?
Why must I go about mourning,
    oppressed by the enemy?”
10 My bones suffer mortal agony
    as my foes taunt me,
saying to me all day long,
    “Where is your God?”

11 Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Verse 8 is a testimony to the God I serve. By day the Lord directs His love (but choosing to follow Your ways is up to me), and at night His song will be with me as a prayer to the God of my life (but making You the God of my life is up to me, instead of hiding in shame from You or not even acknowledging that You own it all). The rest of this Psalm is about not feeling God’s presence though longing for Him. But even if I don’t feel Him, He’s still directing my life, and I should still praise Him and talk to Him. Thank You for being the Mighty Orchestrator of it all!

    Like

  2. Verse 11 : Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

    You know I don’t do a very good job at being still. Just like Daniel, I want to know what is in the scroll ( what the future holds for me ). Although something good, it doesn’t help the anticipation. So verse 11 re-iterated…with more belief and more truth being stated a second time,,I am hoping in You Lord!! I pray my soul will stay ease until it’s time for me to move, per se.

    Like

  3. Just prayed the same for you last night, Dyea!

    Like

Leave a Response

