Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – July 11

Thank you for joining us for a summer in Psalms! This Bible study is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry uses the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to you through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page (i.e., verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, response to another’s comment). Please check back! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 41

For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Blessed are those who have regard for the weak;
    the Lord delivers them in times of trouble.
The Lord protects and preserves them—
    they are counted among the blessed in the land—
    he does not give them over to the desire of their foes.
The Lord sustains them on their sickbed
    and restores them from their bed of illness.

I said, “Have mercy on me, Lord;
    heal me, for I have sinned against you.”
My enemies say of me in malice,
    “When will he die and his name perish?”
When one of them comes to see me,
    he speaks falsely, while his heart gathers slander;
    then he goes out and spreads it around.

All my enemies whisper together against me;
    they imagine the worst for me, saying,
“A vile disease has afflicted him;
    he will never get up from the place where he lies.”
Even my close friend,
    someone I trusted,
one who shared my bread,
    has turned against me.

10 But may you have mercy on me, Lord;
    raise me up, that I may repay them.
11 I know that you are pleased with me,
    for my enemy does not triumph over me.
12 Because of my integrity you uphold me
    and set me in your presence forever.

13 Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel,
    from everlasting to everlasting.
Amen and Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. S: “Have mercy on me, Lord; heal me, for I have sinned against You.”

    O/A: I’ve been teaching in kids ministry for about 9 years now. Last Sunday was the first time I’ve taught a lesson on mercy, and I humbly admit, before then, I could not have told you what mercy is. Funny how much God’s grown me through teaching kids things I don’t know through the years! This lesson was on the Beatitudes from Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount; in Matthew 5:7, Jesus says, “Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.” The simple answer for the definition of mercy is undeserved kindness. If I have sinned against God–which I have, numerous times–I don’t deserve His blessings. But time and time again, He has had mercy on me and blessed me anyway, to list just a few of His blessings from today: a beautiful family, an air-conditioned house, sitting back and soaking in His creation while the kids played in the lake, blueberries in my oatmeal, an angel looking over the food pantry garden (that’s Crystal’s mom :)). God wants me not just to be blessed by His mercy but to show mercy to others too.

    P: Have mercy on me, Lord! But help me to show mercy to others too. And thank You for every undeserved blessing You have showered me with.

    Like

  2. I’m holding onto verse 12 today : Because of my integrity you uphold me and set me in your presence forever.

    Been waiting to have that tough convo,, just hoping and praying it did not fall on deaf ears and a too hardened heart … Lord, thank You for Your mercy!

    Like

Leave a Response

