Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – June 19

This Bible study in Psalms is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry focuses on use of the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to you through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be any of the following related to the Psalm: scripture verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. And check back to see where the conversation leads us! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Book of Psalms contains responses to God by individuals and the community in worship. We pray through this study that all of us will focus on the majesty of God and humble ourselves before Him in worship, no matter our circumstance.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 19

For the director of music. A psalm of David.

The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
    night after night they reveal knowledge.
They have no speech, they use no words;
    no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
    their words to the ends of the world.
In the heavens God has pitched a tent for the sun.
    It is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
    like a champion rejoicing to run his course.
It rises at one end of the heavens
    and makes its circuit to the other;
    nothing is deprived of its warmth.

The law of the Lord is perfect,
    refreshing the soul.
The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy,
    making wise the simple.
The precepts of the Lord are right,
    giving joy to the heart.
The commands of the Lord are radiant,
    giving light to the eyes.
The fear of the Lord is pure,
    enduring forever.
The decrees of the Lord are firm,
    and all of them are righteous.

10 They are more precious than gold,
    than much pure gold;
they are sweeter than honey,
    than honey from the honeycomb.
11 By them your servant is warned;
    in keeping them there is great reward.
12 But who can discern their own errors?
    Forgive my hidden faults.
13 Keep your servant also from willful sins;
    may they not rule over me.
Then I will be blameless,
    innocent of great transgression.

14 May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart
    be pleasing in your sight,
    Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on June 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So many things in Psalm 19 speak to me!

    Our God the Creator made a beautiful, exquisitely detailed world for us to live in. There are some days when I can’t stop looking at the beauty of the cumulus and cumulonimbus clouds, the colors of the sunrise and sunset, and the corpuscular rays shining straight through the clouds as if God was behind those clouds and His light cannot be contained. Sorry for all the big words;I have a meteorology degree, so I’ve sought that knowledge revealed night after night mentioned in verse 2. And in seeking that knowledge, I am blown away more and more by the creativity and humongous-ness of the God who created it out of nothing and put it all into order.

    But He is not just the Creator. He seeks to interact with His creation in an intimate relationship with you and me through His perfect Word. He is God the Father, the Counselor, the Sustainer, the Shelter/Refuge to me. To be all of this, He speaks to us through the Bible which He breathed into being. Verses 7-13 describe His Word and what it can be for us.

    And my response to all of His glory and majesty is to seek to please Him. Verse 14 is a really good memory verse. I use it to try and guard my tongue as my anger flares. I need to remember it more often.

    Like

  2. S. Vs. 11 By them your servant is warned;
    in keeping them there is great reward.

    Vs. 14 May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart
    be pleasing in your sight,
    Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

    O. David is writing about God’s majesty and creation declares that majesty to all who simply observe it. Poetry can be facts and praise is revealed one fact at a time. Verse 11 is referring to the second half of verse 9: The decrees of the Lord are firm, and all of them are righteous. Verse 14 made me gasp; it was the first verse I ever memorized due to Jamie’s awana lesson many many moons ago but I hadn’t remembered all that led up to it…or its address.

    A. My selfish nature today focused on rewards…great rewards…and I had to go backwards and find out what I have to “keep” to attain them. I could have been focused on being warned; Jim Rohn often taught that our choices and their consequences in our lives could serve as examples or warnings to others. But oh, no….I’m still focused on rewards. And my old strategies to get what I want popped into my head: ~if~ I keep the firm and righteous decrees, great will be my reward…so…my mind raced to define and interpret “decrees”. The 10 commandments? the 600(+) rules in Leviticus? God telling Adam to eat everything in the garden except the “Apple”? God telling satan to go ahead and test Job, His servant?? Wait, what? Was that a decree? Maybe not, but that thought led me to remember that the battle is not mine…it is between God and satan…Jesus “decreed” the greatest commandment is to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and the second is to love your neighbor as yourself. Let the “battle” belong to God and let the love belong to us … as an example of the fact that He created a new, clean heart in me.

    P. Let my thoughts, the meditation of my heart, focus on You and Your love for me and Your creation. Let the words of my mouth build up and encourage others to see Your love for them. Let the actions of my life and the consequences of my examples be pleasing in your sight, and let me reward-focused attitude be reminded that one day, Your smiling face will be saying “well done, good and faithful servant”.

    Like

  3. Love the adventure you just took me on, Lisa! It’s like we were talking in person over coffee. I don’t know what that “great reward” is going to be, but it’s going to be bigger, better, and more awesome than anything I could ever imagine!

    Like

Leave a Response

