Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – June 16

This Bible study in Psalms is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry focuses on use of the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to You through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be any of the following related to the Psalm: scripture verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. And check back to see where the conversation leads us! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Book of Psalms contains responses to God by individuals and the community in worship. We pray through this study that all of us will focus on the majesty of God and humble ourselves before Him in worship, no matter our circumstance.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 16

A miktam of David.

Keep me safe, my God,
    for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
    “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
    I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
    or take up their names on my lips.

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
    even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
    my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
    nor will you let your faithful one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
    you will fill me with joy in your presence,
    with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on June 16, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The very first verse jumped out at me immediately. My husband has been traveling for work a lot the last few weeks (gone 4 days a week) and I am tired! I realize now how much I depend on him when he’s not around. I also don’t sleep well when he isn’t there next to me. Last night was especially awful as I awoke to the sound of a bang (among other sounds outside). Too frightened to move, I just laid in bed and prayed. Eventually I got up and walked thru the house and looked outside. Three hours went by and I finally drifted back to sleep. Tonight I will pray before sleeping that God will protect us and give me rest!

    Like

  2. S. Vs. 5 Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
    O. Whatever a “miktam” is, thank you David for writing it down. It sounds like David is reminding himself to look to Jesus first and then all the other issues around him are illuminated with His perspective. I see the repetition of “secure” and “pleasure/pleasant” and “boundary lines/path of life”.
    A. There’s still an overwhelming amount of work to do in dealing with my mom’s “stuff”. I wake up not knowing what to do first, thankful that there is an appointment today but not knowing what to do after that, and if I’m really honest with myself, not wanting to do any of it anyway. Yet this is my “lot” right now, and it is very much a wake up call to live in the moment and praise Him for adopting me into His family, and being a light to others with a glad heart and a rejoicing tongue, even while missing my mom.
    P. thank you Jesus for allowing me to sit at your feet this morning and reminding me that everything I need is in You. Fill me with the joy of Your presence and guide me on this path of life. Help me be here, in the present, for my kids and husband and clients, and maybe let them see that You are holding me up.

    Like

  3. Psalm 16:1
    Yes, God always protects us! Through the hard times. There’s a quote that I want to share its “God sends his strongest soldiers to the hardest battles” that quote means a lot because I sometimes feel why am I getting hard battles well then I think we’ll I must be on of his storngest soldiers.

    Prayer:
    Dear Heavenly Father I pray you help me help people who are going through tough times because I know you’ll help them way better than me but I’m Jesus name I Pray,
    Amen.

    Like

  4. I’m going to expand a little today and write about two (2) verses that spoke to me :

    Verse 2, right away : I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing”, which takes me to verse 6 : The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. That “inheritance” being this present time (now) and eternal life (later). You Lord have chosen me, and have orchestrated everything perfectly to include where “it all” will fall. My job, to be patient, wait and not forget that You’re who You say You are.

    Because of You, from afflictions to ecstatic-ness, through it all You are my inheritance. There are too many good things about you: some I recognized in this chapter, those being : You are my teacher, nothing can move me away from You, I will be safe and happy with You, I will not go to hell and will continue to live with You – all due to You. Jesus when you came, you showed us what God is like, thank you for the continual forgiveness and thank You for not letting us be stuck in this state of being forever.

    Like

  5. Jess, I hope you don’t mind that I comment on your post. I love it, I actually have many nights where I know the enemy is, as I say “trying to get my goat” and many nights finding myself, renouncing demons.

    The dark is scary, I get it…ask my five year old, he gets it too. He told me, the other night he came in (I must have been dead to the world, because I don’t even remember the event), but said “mama, I’m scared” – apparently my response was “oh don’t let the dark get you”, mother of the year, right? In this chapter, we know that Saul was still trying to kill David – legitimate reason to be scared, but it’s more than that. We have an enemy that wants us to be tired, not on guard, he wants us to stay in that state of fear and destroy us. I’m praying for that rest for you. The Lord is your refuge, He resides in your home as well – those demons are not welcomed!!

    Like

  6. Lisa, I just love you and your heart!! I’m praying that all the intercessory prayers (mine included) will give you the strength, rest, peace and all the healing you need. …men always ought to pray and not lose heart. – Luke 18:1

    Like

  7. Good stuff today, from this Psalm, and from all of you too! I like verse 7. When I draw near to God, He always counsels me, without fail! Whether it be in the shower, in the middle of the night, or in the airplane flying home like today as I prayed for all of you. Still working on drawing near to Him when my anger is flaring up. Thank You, God, for being my Counselor!

    Like

  8. For me, vs 8 spoke the most.
    With him at my right hand I will not be shaken.
    The amount of peace I feel after I pray is indescribable at times.
    It’s so nice to let go of the worry sometimes and just give it to the one who says that he has plans for you and those plans are good:)

    Like

Leave a Response

