Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – June 13

This Bible study in Psalms is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry focuses on use of the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to You through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be any of the following related to the Psalm: scripture verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. And check back to see where the conversation leads us! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Book of Psalms contains responses to God by individuals and the community in worship. We pray through this study that all of us will focus on the majesty of God and humble ourselves before Him in worship, no matter our circumstance.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 13

For the director of music. A psalm of David.

How long, Lord? Will you forget me forever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
    and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
    How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look on me and answer, Lord my God.
    Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death,
and my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
    and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

But I trust in your unfailing love;
    my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing the Lord’s praise,
    for he has been good to me.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on June 13, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 6. I will sing the lords praise for he has been good to me.

    YES HE HAS!!!

    Like

  2. Amen!
    So, I was in the shower last night thinking about the psalms we’ve read to date. Has anyone else noticed the me against them theme running through these so far? It’s been bothering me. Thinking on it, God helped me understand it better. When I draw near to Him by reading His Word, He is faithful in delivering the message I need at that moment. When the Psalms were written, there was an us against them mentality. The psalmists were part of the God’s Chosen People–that’s the “us”–and their enemies were those they were pushing out of the promised land or those trying to invade–that’s the “them”. But the “us” vs. “them” mentality applied today, that is this side of Jesus’ dying and rising from the dead for us all, can cause problems. For instance, maybe Christians being identified as judgmental comes partly from this. So the reason the “us” vs. “them” is bothering me is because I see us all as sinners in the same boat, with the same Savior, though some have chosen to believe in that salvation while others have not. That’s why I need to pray for these enemies, so that they too can choose to believe. My boats going to heaven!

    Like

  3. Verse 2 : “The Fight”

    – – How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and day after day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me?

    I watched this fight of my son’s for almost six (6) years now – bottom line, he is a fighter like me and God knows what he is doing. I am thankful for all of these afflictions and one day, he will be as well!

    Like

  4. Amen, Becky!! My boat is right along side yours,,,

    Like

Leave a Response

