Summer in Psalms Interactive Bible Study – June 4

This Bible study in Psalms is intended to be interactive, as a stepping stone from reading God’s Word to journaling with Him. The Discover One Thing ministry focuses on use of the SOAP method of Bible Study (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) during our daily time at the feet of Jesus. To learn more, check out the “What’s SOAP?” tab above. Please read the Psalm below, let God speak to You through it, then post a response in the Comments section on our website’s home page. Your response could be any of the following related to the Psalm: scripture verse that stood out to you, observation, application, prayer, question, prayer request, or response to another’s comment. And check back to see where the conversation leads us! Together we can encourage one another and grow closer to God!

The Book of Psalms contains responses to God by individuals and the community in worship. We pray through this study that all of us will focus on the majesty of God and humble ourselves before Him in worship, no matter our circumstance.

-Becky & Dyea

Psalm 4

For the director of music. With stringed instruments. A psalm of David.

Answer me when I call to you,
    my righteous God.
Give me relief from my distress;
    have mercy on me and hear my prayer.

How long will you people turn my glory into shame?
    How long will you love delusions and seek false gods?
Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself;
    the Lord hears when I call to him.

Tremble and do not sin;
    when you are on your beds,
    search your hearts and be silent.
Offer the sacrifices of the righteous
    and trust in the Lord.

Many, Lord, are asking, “Who will bring us prosperity?”
    Let the light of your face shine on us.
Fill my heart with joy
    when their grain and new wine abound.

In peace I will lie down and sleep,
    for you alone, Lord,
    make me dwell in safety.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on June 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t like reading that “delusions” and “false gods” may trip me up during the day, and sometimes I may not even recognize my sin until I search myself and ask for His forgiveness and peace. I need to make more time to search myself so that these sins don’t go unrecognized. Verses 4 and 8 suggest that when I lie down at night, I should search myself silently, letting God tune me up and then give me His peace that surpasses all understanding, letting it all go right into His arms so my mind can rest. His prosperity starts in my heart.

    Like

  2. I’m not quite sure if it is the weather that is making me very sleepy today or added; a long week to boot – at any rate, just makes for a sleepyhead day.
    When I read verse 8, this overwhelming peace came over me.
    I can’t help but think of Matthew 11:28-29, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.
    This is only because of You, LORD, keep me safe and may I find that rest in You.

    Like

  3. Verse 8 is one of my favorite verses. I have repeated it to my self to many times to count. With my sleep issues and worries this verse has helped me through many nights. God keeps reminding me to give all my worries to him.

    Like

  4. Awesome, Rebecca! I love how the Holy Spirit works–I prayed this verse for you earlier today!

    Like

Leave a Response

