May 12 – Acts 16

Timing is everything | Dyea

Scripture

READ: Acts 16

Acts 16:6, 7, 8 – Paul and his companions traveled throughout the region of Phrygia and Galatia, having been kept by the Holy Spirit from preaching the word in the province of Asia. When they came to the border of Mysia, they tried to enter Bithynia, but the Spirit of Jesus would not allow them to. So they passed by Mysia and went down to Troas.

Observation

Oh my goodness, how important it is to be sensitive to God’s will and His timing!? In verse 5, we read churches were strengthened in the faith and grew daily in numbers. This in itself–amazing, right? Knowing a job like this was given to you and the goal was definitely being attained, the focus could have easily been lost. If Paul would have not been obedient to his instructions and tried to “squeeze” in preaching the word on his own time, he would have missed what was to come in verses 9,10 and more: “During the night Paul had a vision of a man of Macedonia standing and begging him, ‘Come over to Macedonia and help us.’ After Paul had seen the vision, we got ready at once to leave for Macedonia, concluding that God had called us to preach the gospel to them.”

How often I get antsy and cannot wait to see the plans You have for me. The ironic thing is I’m unquiet right now, wondering what and trying to “spin” how You might have things work out. But after reading this, I remembered quickly that I was once advised by a wise friend (and you know you are)…to remember Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God.” How true these words are. Paul knew them and knew his time would come to preach in Asia, and it did, just like God had planned.

Application

Waiting for Your timing.

Prayer

Father, You know I’m waiting for something amazing because that is the only thing that comes from You. I know, I get in a hurry and I miss out on those little things that You have set aside just for me. I know I have several jobs to do, but please help me prioritize, be patient, and wait for Your perfect timing, so there will not be One Thing I miss – in Your perfect will and amazing Name…Amen.

Posted on May 12, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

