May 5 – Acts 11

I love the rain this morning! Perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee and reading God’s Word.

-Rebecca

Scripture

READ: Acts 11

Acts 11:1-3, 17 and 18 – The apostles and the brothers throughout Judea heard that the Gentiles also had received the word of God. So when Peter went up to Jerusalem, the circumcised believers criticized him and said, “You went into the house of uncircumcised men and ate with them.” … “So if God gave them the same gift as he gave us, who believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I to think that I could oppose God?” When they heard this, they had no further objections and praised God, saying, “So then, God has granted even the Gentiles repentance unto life.”

Observation

Peter knew that he would be judged by the other believers and non-believers because he taught the word of God to a group of people the Jews weren’t supposed to associate with. But he did it anyway because God told him too.  God is showing me that I should not worry about being judged but get out of my comfort zone and tell others about Jesus. Sometimes I find myself wondering if I should put certain Bible things on Facebook because I don’t want to offend anyone. But this is one of the best ways for me to tell others about what I’m learning from the Bible, and maybe it will speak to someone else and help them. And like Peter said–who am I to think I can oppose God!

Application

God wants us to get out of our comfort zones. If he’s telling us to do something, don’t worry about being judged.

Prayer

Dear God,

Please help me to tell others about You and not worry about what others think.

Posted on May 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “The struggle is real”…not sure whose quote this is, but felt it definitely applies to your post today. We’re to be the salt of the earth (Matthew 5:13) because we know in those times, salt was very important (it preserved and flavored), but there’s now in todays times it’s hard to decipher who even the “Christians” are. I’ve felt myself trapped by what others have thought..not a fun spot to be in. I pray for all of us Jesus follows to be bold for Him, to preserve and flavor this earth….

    Like

  2. The struggle IS real! Even Peter continued to struggle with God’s vision. He just couldn’t let it go. We’ll read more about that later in Acts. If Peter continued to struggle, we’re in good company! Surrounding ourselves with a community of believers who will encourage us is God’s design for us. If you feel God nudging you out of your comfort zone, dial me in! If I can join you, I’ll come hold your hand while you take that step; if not, I’ll surround you in prayer! That’s what God wants us to be doing for each other.

    Like

Leave a Response

