April 27 – Acts 6:1-7:22

Happy Monday! | Rebecca

Scripture

READ: Acts 6:1-7:22

Acts 6:1-5: In those days when the number of disciples was increasing, the Grecian Jews among them complained against the Hebraic Jews because their widows were being overlooked in the daily distribution of food. So the twelve gathered all the disciples together and said “It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God in order to wait on tables. Brothers, choose seven men from among you who are known to be full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will turn this responsibility over to them and will give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the Word.” This proposal pleased the whole group.

Observation

In Acts 2:44, it said all the believers were together and had everything in common.  Then in 6:1, not too much later, they are dealing with complaints from the different groups.

The 12 realized that for them to fully give their attention to prayer and ministry of the Word, they would have to delegate out different jobs. Because just like today in the church, there are so many volunteers needed that if just a few try to do too much, they would get burnt out and certain ministries would not get the full attention they need.

I’ve been praying about what to do when my youngest goes to kindergarten in August and how I can volunteer in the church.  Not a leadership position but a behind-the-scenes position and what I could do.

Application

The church needs many volunteers so each area can get the attention it needs.

Prayer

Dear God,

Thank You that You know exactly what is in store for me and what my future holds, when I have no idea what I will be doing in August.  Thank You for the verses today and showing me how important helping in church is. Please help me to get out of my comfort zone and help where I’m needed.

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like what you saw in these verses better than what I saw! All I could think was that these 7 must have felt pretty jaded that they got the menial task of taking care of the widows while Peter and the apostles got to go out at risk of death spreading the good news. Evidently I need to examine my heart a bit…which reminds me of a story from my past. My hubby was in the Army during the aftermath of September 11 and anxiously awaiting his turn to defend our country in Iraq. When they called up his unit to deploy, he was chosen as the officer who would stay back home and take care of the soldiers going in and out, including the cowards, and which also meant he had to take care of the families. My husband was devastated that he would have to fill this administrative role rather than being the brave soldier he was trained to be at war. But to this day, he will tell you that this was the worst and best job he ever had. It was so obvious that God put one of His children in this role for a reason, as he was able to share the Light to injured soldiers and seven families that year who lost their soldier, including his commander whom he would have been with when the bomb exploded if he had deployed. God’s plans are always better than our own!

    Like

Leave a Response

