April 3 – Chronological Life of Jesus Day 67

Raise your hands and turn your eyes to heaven and praise Him for this awesome ending to His gospels! …which really isn’t an ending but more of a beginning of a new way to live! K-Love’s been playing this song like crazy, and it makes my heart roar out to God every time I hear it, so maybe it will draw you near to His presence today too–Matt Maher’s “Because He Lives”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhpPREJ7ZHw

Thank you for following Jesus with me these last three months! It has been an experience beyond words. I am proud to be a follower of Jesus Christ my Savior!

-Becky

Scripture

READ: Luke 24, John 20-21

Luke 24:45-46: “Then he opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures. He told them, ‘This is what is written: the Christ will suffer and rise from the dead on the third day, and repentance and forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things.’”

Observation

As close as the disciples were to Jesus, he still had to open their minds to understand the Scriptures, to understand this all had to happen to prove that Jesus is the Son of God. I’ve heard this sentiment a lot, from my friends, from kids—I don’t understand the Bible so I don’t read it. Basically, it’s intimidating. A 2013 study showed that while 88% of Americans own Bibles and 77% of Americans identify themselves as Christians, only 26% read the Bible on a regular basis. God loves us so much that He sent His Son Jesus to die on a cross to take the punishment for our sin and rise from the dead to conquer death so that we can have eternal life with Him in heaven forever! He swung that door wide open for us through Jesus AND offers us a personal relationship with Him if we just draw near to Him through reading His Word and praying and worshiping and serving Him. He has opened our minds to understanding His Word! It’s written right here in this verse! If there’s a tool that God’s given me to help me live in this world, then I’m going to use it!

Jesus is telling his disciples that they are witnesses to the fulfilled Scriptures. As a follower of Jesus, I’m a witness too. Not only can I tell people about what I’ve read in the Bible, I can tell people about how God has spoken to me through the Bible. And that’s exactly what God wants me to do. I can never ever in a gazillion years pay back God for what He has done for me, for what we are celebrating this Sunday, but I can play my tiny part in the Body of Christ, seeking to please Him daily by sacrificing my time to Him, being His hands and feet, and preaching in His name to all nations!

What a great introduction to our next study in the book of Acts! We’ve come chronologically this far, so take the next chronological step with us into discovering how the Christian church began. Keep checking in on our website for updates on when this will start. It will be a 30-day study with weekends off again (or sign-up to “follow” us to get e-mails).

Application

You have opened my mind to understanding Your Word, and You want me to be a witness to others.

Prayer

Thank You for giving us Your Word and opening up my mind to understanding it! Help me be a witness to everyone You call me to be a witness, to spread the reading and understanding of Your Word like a wildfire through the power of the Holy Spirit. I pray for those doing this study with us to continue their daily time at your feet, growing, growing, growing, and living up to their God-given potential. And a billion thank You’s for Your love and grace and sending Your Son Jesus to teach us and wow us and die for us, but most importantly in all the glory to rise from the dead and conquer the grave and send us into eternity with You! Oh what love!

Posted on April 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks to Becky and Dyea for all your research and love you poured into this study. We have been blessed by your faithfulness. By the way, that was a great video!!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Joni, for all of your encouragement and prayers!

    Like

  3. Yes! Amazing! The repentance for the forgiveness of sins….awesome! How is Christianity different from every religion? You can’t earn your way to heaven. Thank you Jesus for this gift!

    Like

Leave a Response

