February 11 – Chronological Life of Jesus Day 30

Today we have another guest post from Holly. She’s helping me out during an especially busy week, and I thank God for her! I’m so blessed to know this woman, and even more blessed how God orchestrated her living right across the street!

–Becky

Scripture

READ: John 6

Observation

I’m so thankful for John’s account of feeding the five thousand.  I’ve heard people “explain” this story as if all the people pooled their food together.  As if Jesus miraculously just got people to share. I don’t think so. Verse 11 says Jesus took the five loaves, gave thanks, and distributed… he did the same with the fish…verse 13–filled twelve baskets with pieces of the five barley loaves. How can such a simple miracle be so hard to understand?

Believe! This is all in, it’s radical, it’s life changing, it’s completely submissive, it’s holy fear, it’s awesome power and spirit.  We can only do so much with the words our brains have to use.  How do you describe what a mango tastes like? How do you define the color red? How do you tell a blind man what a newborn baby looks like? There really are no words that could ever fully describe this experience.  The word BELIEVE is but a mere recognition and glimpse of the full experience that is Jesus Christ.  Verse 40: “For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.” Surely, there are many who may look to the Son without actually BELIEVING in him.  Words, words, words.

Did Jesus actually give us his flesh to eat and blood to drink?

  • Verse 54: “Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.”
  • Verse 55: “For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink.”
  • Verses 61-64: “Aware that his disciples were grumbling about this, Jesus said to them, ‘Does this offend you? What if you see the Son of Man ascend to where he was before! The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing.  The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life.  Yet there are some of you who do not believe.’”

YES! If you’ve ever really examined yourself, then you realize how disgusting you are.  I grew up with all the pep talk of self-confidence, get good grades, and girl power, blah, blah.  I know the truth of who I am, and without Jesus I am nothing.  I gladly eat his flesh and drink his blood.

Application

You know how we can be in the middle of a conversation and then our mind wanders, but we pretend we have been listening and just keep on with the conversation.  God knows when we are listening and when we aren’t.  He may be walking with us and talking to us, and our hearts our hard.  We need to consume it! It’s no surprise that verse 60 says, “On hearing it, many of his disciples said, ‘This is a hard teaching.  Who can accept it?’”   Ten years ago, I remember being in a pastor’s Bible study in Texas, and he read some scripture and I said something like, “What am I supposed to do, sit around and read the Bible all day and not watch television.”  Guess what I do now?  I still watch some TV, but it certainly doesn’t fill me up like it used to, and I usually walk away disgusted.  I’m really not picking on TV; we really enjoy our big screen.  But my heart has transformed, and there are times I really want to take a baseball bat to it.  I love, love, love my Bible! It fills me up, and gives me energy, and joy, and wisdom, and love.  God’s Word is amazing! Yet even God’s word can seem empty, boring, painful, and harsh if we don’t believe.  If our hearts our hard and we are preoccupied with distress, anger, jealousy, money, and our own desires, then we are shutting God out of our conversation.

Prayer

Lord, we are ready to consume You in our daily life.  You fill us up like nothing else can.  We are so fully convinced that You are the truth and the life that we want to walk and talk together in every situation.  I don’t want to gloss over Your words and sugarcoat them.  I need more than words, Lord, I need to experience Your Spirit in my daily life so that I can fully believe and live according to Your will.

-Holly

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh Holly! Your application made me laugh! I can so see and hear you making that comment to your pastor and bashing in your TV!

    My Bible notes that the feeding of the 5000 is the only miracle besides Jesus’ resurrection that all four gospels record. I love John’s telling because it’s an awesome object lesson. My Bible also notes that the Jews believed the Messiah would bring back manna like the kind God had given their ancestors to survive the wandering in the desert with Moses. Here, Jesus miraculously provides bread and fish for this huge crowd then later talks about himself being the manna from God they were expecting. Verse 27: “‘Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.'” It’s the difference between physical food that helps us live on earth and spiritual food that gives us eternal life. That’s the part they couldn’t understand, and verse 66 says many of his disciples no longer followed him after hearing this. That believing part, the only “work” we’re required to do to get to heaven (vs. 29), is not so easy when it’s something we can’t see, touch, feel, smell. But, sitting here with Jesus, reading the Word of God and letting Him talk to you through it and through journaling, we are working for that food that endures to eternal life, and Jesus is giving it to us! Thank You, Jesus, for the bread of life!

    Like

  1. Pingback: March 24 – Chronological Life of Jesus Day 59 | Discover One Thing Online Bible Study

Leave a Response

