February 9 – Chronological Life of Jesus Day 28

We have a guest post from Holly today! If you’re interested in sharing a journal entry for this study, please e-mail us. –Becky

Scripture

READ: Mark 6

Observation

Our God is an awesome God! In this chapter, we have an account of when Jesus feeds the five thousand and when Jesus walks on water. We have already read about the many sick people that Jesus has healed, and how Jesus has raised people from the dead and allowed the blind to see and the deaf to hear. I, personally, have no experience in the health and medical industry. Medicines, surgeries, blood, and guts are all very foreign to me. I know I could have never been a nurse or anything in that arena, because it is all gibberish to me. I greatly commend and am amazed at the people who have the strength to be around sick and hurting people amidst their pain and suffering, while working diligently to heal them and care for them. Health professionals are such amazing people! So it is no surprise to me to find Jesus as the master healer, with powers to cure and take away suffering, and renew people to clean and healthy.

Now we have these amazing testimonies of multiplying the two fish and loaves to feed the thousands of people and of Jesus walking on water. It is quite tangible, and even the most simple-minded can grasp how this defies all reality of the physical world we live in. I noticed after the feeding of the five thousand, after Jesus climbed in the boat after walking on water in verse 52, it says, “They were completely amazed for they had not understood about the loaves; their hearts were hardened.” We often live in our own perceptions and closed-mindedness while the Lord is ready to completely amaze us with His powers!

Application

Last week, I had commented about faith and compared it to the most loving relationship of an old couple who had been through thick and thin together and had a time-tested deep love for each other. I wrote that faith is like a muscle that needs exercised. I still think that is partly true, but I was reminded of the verse in Mark 10:15, “I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” Faith is actually defined as complete trust or confidence in someone or something. Can we trust the Lord to take care of our children and have them “turn out” the way they should? Can we trust the Lord with our marriage and make my husband attracted to me and madly in love with me? Can we trust the Lord with our finances that we will always have food and shelter? Can we trust the Lord with our time, that he has us doing exactly what we should be doing and that we are important? We can surrender absolutely everything to the Lord like a helpless child and He will completely amaze us!

Prayer

Lord, you completely blow my mind! I don’t ever want to put You in a box of what your capabilities are for our world and my life. No eye can see, no ear has heard the things God has prepared for those who love Him. I don’t have to understand everything, Lord, and make it all make sense. I know You are in control and Your ways are completely beyond my tiny little brain. I fully trust You to give and take away as You will for my life to bring me closer to You.

-Holly

Posted on February 9, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for sharing, Holly! More misperceptions and closed-mindedness when Jesus visits his hometown in Mark 6:1-6. The synagogue crowd went from amazement to doubt to rejection in these few verses as Jesus taught and performed miracles. These are the people who knew Jesus growing up, from about 5 to 30 years old, exactly the part of his life that’s not recorded in the gospels (except for that one incident at the temple). Because they saw him growing up, Jesus as man, they could not make that connection between God and Son, or God made in man’s image. They couldn’t grasp where his authority was coming from and thus rejected it. This is one of the reasons I refuse to go to my high school reunions. I am being made new; nothing like that girl in high school, and everyone who knew me back then wouldn’t even recognize me from the inside out, exactly where the Holy Spirit has transformed me. Including my own family. God, I know I can only control myself, but I pray for renewal and restoration of my relationships with those who reject You and thus reject me; I pray for Your light to shine on them so they can see it is You and it is Good.

    Like

Leave a Response

