December 8 – Jesse Tree Story Day 9

A little heart-to-heart today—so far these Old Testament readings have been more difficult than I anticipated as far as it ties into Advent. I’m so thankful for this Ann Voskamp book that’s been helping me when I just don’t get it (Thank you for the gift, Kim Chipman!). But this got me thinking that maybe you’re feeling the same? I know that this could easily turn into a lie from Satan, that I’m too dumb to understand the Bible, that I’m too busy to take time for this, that I don’t have the education or background to find meaning in these scriptures let alone communicate that meaning to others—that’s Satan trying to take me away from the daily priority I’ve set to draw near to God, and I’m not falling for it! This excerpt from the Proverbs 31 Ministries post from December 5 was helpful for me:

“God reveals the truths He wants us to understand when He feels we are ready to understand and apply them. When we don’t understand something, it doesn’t mean we are less of a Christian or not as smart as another. God, in His infinite wisdom, keeps some things hidden from us until just the right time.”

Scripture

READ: Moses in Exodus 2:1-4:20

Observation

Setting the scene from Exodus 1, Jacob’s family prospered in Egypt and became known as the Israelites. A new Pharaoh decided he didn’t like how they seemed to be taking over their land and first tried subduing them as slaves. They continued to multiply, so his next devious plan was to force them to kill every newborn boy, though his order specifically from verse 1:22 was: “’Every boy that is born you must throw into the Nile.’”

Vs. 2:1-10. So, a Levite woman had a baby boy, and as ordered, she threw him into the Nile. She made him a little boat to float in and threw him in the reeds so he wouldn’t float away. But she did follow Pharaoh’s order. This is the how the story of Moses begins. Every time I read this, I wonder what Pharaoh’s family life looked like, with his daughter saving an Israelite baby whom her father despised and then adopting him. Could you see Hitler with a Jewish grandson? But the only thing that’s important here is that God ordained it.

Vs. 2:11-4:20. Well, Pharoah did end up trying to kill his adopted grandson. Again, God planned it this way so Moses would flee, find his wife, start a family, and then get called by God as the leader of the Israelites. What was Moses’ initial response to God’s call from the burning bush? God introduces Himself as the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. This makes me wonder if the Israelites at this time knew God for themselves. Whether their cries were directed at Him or not, God heard the Israelites and remembered His promise (vs. 2:24 and 3:7-10). How does Moses respond when he realizes God wants Him to lead the Israelites? I think he sounds whiny. Have you ever responded to God in a similar manner?

I love the exchange between Moses and God in vs. 3:13-14, and I think that’s the key to finding Jesus in today’s reading.

Moses: Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, “The God of your fathers has sent me to you,” and they ask me, “What is his name?” Then what shall I tell them?

God: I Am Who I Am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I Am has sent me to you…the Lord, the God of your fathers—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.” This is My name forever, the name by which I am to be remembered from generation to generation.

Now, check John 8:57-59 and 13:19. So cool, there are lots of I Am statements in John! If you have time, check them out—verses 6:35, 8:12, 10:9, 10:11, 11:25, 14:6, and 15:5.

Application

You are the mighty I AM, three in one—Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. I can trust You.

Prayer

God, I pray that I’m never whiny like Moses when You ask me to do something. And I apologize for all of the times I have been whiny. You have called me to what I’m doing right now, You see me, and You care. Thank You! Help me to keep my time with You my top priority of each day.

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So much in this story! God keeps His promises. He is our Deliverer. He is all-knowing; past, present and future and has a plan. He uses us, who are weak vessels and any good we accomplish for the Kingdom is by His power. He acts through us and speaks through us to accomplish His will. His timing is perfect and His provision is complete to fulfill His plans.

    The application that really stands out for me is how vital it is to our faith that we know Him, really know Him. Our testimony and the testimony of others passed down through the generations is how the world will know Christ, now and in the future, and how we, as believers, will recognize Him. God sent Moses as His representative. He told him to say that he was sent by the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. God knew the people knew Him. We must know who He is, what He has done and what He promises, and stand ever ready to share our testimonies with others so that they will recognize Him when He comes to deliver them.

    Thank you for your faithfulness in sharing His Word.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your application and wisdom with us, Robin! There IS a big difference between knowing of Him (as the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob) and knowing Him intimately through a personal relationship with Him. I desire and pray that everyone reading this study would have that personal knowledge of God that comes through praying to Him and reading His Word and serving Him, and that they would be bold and share it with the world!

    Like

Leave a Response

