December 4 – Jesse Tree Story Day 5

I’m in Kansas today supporting my mom with one of my favorite Christmas traditions. Every year since I was 1 year old, my mom organizes and puts on a community Carol-Along as a time to prepare our hearts for Christmas using the music of the season. Though my mom is too humble and consumed by the details to see it this way, what a blessing this event is to those who come and are filled with joy in a way that only music can put a smile on your face. God wants us to be a blessing to others! Today, think about small and big ways you can bless others and spread joy and love.

Scripture

READ: Abraham from Genesis 12:1-7, 15:1-6

Observation

First, let’s make sure we’re on the same page with names to avoid any potential confusion. Today’s verses focus on a man named Abram. In Genesis 17:5, God changes Abram’s name to Abraham, changing the meaning of his name from “exalted father” to “father of many.” Since he’s usually referred to as Abraham, we’ll call him that here.

Genesis 12:1-7. What does God promise Abraham in verse 2 if he leaves his homeland? Do you think the promises of blessings apply only to Abraham, or do they also apply to you as God’s child? Did you find Jesus in these verses yet? In verse 3, God says, “…and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.” Flip to Matthew 1:2 real quick—the genealogy of Jesus. And there he is, listed first.

Genesis 15:1-6. God said He would bless Abraham and make him into a great nation, but things aren’t happening in Abraham’s timeline. He’s getting a little antsy about how exactly God’s promise to make him into a great nation is going to work since he doesn’t have any kids. Do you get antsy about God’s blessings and timing? Do you continue praying about these things or just give up? God reassures Abraham in vs. 5 that his offspring will be as numerous as the stars. The brightest star in the sky led the way to an infant in a manger—the greatest of Abraham’s offspring.

Application

As God’s blessings are countless for me, He wants me to bless others.

Prayer

Thank You, God, for each blessing—my relationship with You, Your love, my husband, my kids, my family and friends, living in a free country, and so many more! You truly have blessed me abundantly. Please help me to obey your nudges, find ways to bless others, and show Your love. I also pray for the Carol-Along tonight, that others may be blessed with joy and draw near to You through it.

Posted on December 4, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Giving a shout out to my Moms Discover group who’s meeting right now! I’m missing you today! Be bold and share blessings today!

    Like

Leave a Response

