November 18 Romans 6:1-23

Slave of What I Obey | Kim Chipman

S~ For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23 (NLT)

O~ So if we are saved by grace we should just do whatever we want with our life, right? Paul says…no. We are no longer slaves to sin, we are dead to the power of sin and alive to God through Christ Jesus. We should not let sin control the way we live, we should not give into it. Sin is no longer our master, we live under the freedom of God’s grace.

Enter: free will. v16 Don’t you realize that you become the slave of whatever you choose to obey? You can be a slave to sin, which leads to death, or you can choose to obey God, which leads to righteous living.

We have a choice! We can choose death or life, slavery or freedom, turmoil/shame/anxiety or peace.

A~ There are times that I get really annoyed that You give us free will. Mainly when I see the result of sin in the world. This world is one very broken place. Thankfully, this world is NOT my home. Seeing the result of sin is difficult. It makes me angry sometimes. There are things that are just absolutely NOT FAIR. I’m sure You would agree with that, actually. Sin doesn’t make You happy, either. It grieves Your heart.

I do, however, have choice. We ALL do. About a million times a day I can choose….You or me. Every thought I think, every attitude I embrace, every word I utter, every moment I spend…can be for Your glory or mine. The choice belongs to each of us. Your Word is truth and also reminds me “Don’t be misled—you cannot mock the justice of God. You will always harvest what you plant.” Galatians 6:7. I have a choice, we all do. We can choose sin which leads to suffering or we can choose Jesus which leads to peace and life.

P~ Thank You for Your word! Thank You for choice, even though there are times I wish life weren’t so hard. Thank You for being just. Help me to serve You, honor You, and follow You even when it’s hard. Thank You for your promises. I love you!

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

