Day 30 John 15:15-27

Scripture:

John 15:15-27

Observation:

Verse 16 is calling out my name.  By the way, for those reading on a smart phone or ipad, it is in red, (this means Jesus is speaking)   “ You (Joni), didn’t choose me. I chose you (Joni).”   I just want to expand on that verse a bit.  Jesus is telling me, (and you) he CHOSE me.  I was picked to be His child. I didn’t do ANYTHING to deserve this. I am a chosen, wanted child of God.   Because of this statement, I know He wanted me,  He has a purpose for me and my life. And…it is right after that. What is the purpose that God has given me (and you!!) for our lives?

Verse 17 has a commandment that Jesus is giving us.  What is it?

Love.   Yep, here we go again!!!  I’m going to make an observation, I see Jesus telling us,    several times in John ,    to love one another.  Who thinks this is important?   (every single reader had better have screamed YES to their computer screen!!  :))

Next Topic.  Verses 18-25.  I think it’s extremely important that Christians have an understanding of this scripture.  The world will hate people who belong to Him.  We need to expect that.  They have seen and not believed.(verse 24)   They resent those who represent Light.

Two things.

First—Jesus is telling us that the world hates us because they hate Him.  They hate the Father.   We are identified with Him and therefore we are outsiders to the world.

Second.  I think Jesus taught us frequently about love, and, right before in verse 18, because that is how He wants us to respond.  To love.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.”  1Corinthians 13:4-7  The Message translation

 

The last observation is verse 26.  Jesus has sent the Advocate, the Holy Spirit to help us.  He will help us testify. He helps us to love the way Christ wants us to.

 

Application:

What part of 1 Corinthians 13 is the hardest for you to do?   I’ll be first to answer.  I tend to keep score of what other people do that hurts me.  I want to love others like 1 Corinthians 13 teaches.

 

Prayer:

Dear Lord, I sometimes get discouraged living in this world. There can be so much hatred and evil.  People don’t always appreciate my attempts of loving them! Please help me to forgive and to persevere and to remember it is your opinion and approval I seek—not the world’s opinion.

 

 

 

 

Posted on October 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Response

