Day 24 John 12:26-50

Scripture:

John 12: 26-50

Observation:

Jesus is sharing about why He must die on the cross.  Verse 27 gives us a peek into the human aspect of Jesus, He also shares that this was the reason He came to Earth.  Does that give you comfort to know that Jesus knew about his crucifixion all along? This was all part of God’s perfect plan to save the world.

Who is He identifying as the ruler of the world?  How will Satan be overcome?

In verse 34 the crowd responds, “We understood from Scripture that the Messiah would live forever. How can you say the Son of Man will die?”  I wonder if they had a hard time seeing and accepting Jesus  because of their preconceived ideas about what he should “look like”.  Do you think that people miss seeing Jesus today because of their misguided ideas about Him?

Read verses 37- 43.  How is this like people today?   I think that as people become hardened to God and desensitized by sin, their eyes become unable to see God.  What are some ways we can soften our hearts to the Lord and help others to see Him?

Chapter 12 finishes up with Jesus again urging the crowd to trust Him and God who sent Him.  He calls himself a light that shines in a dark world. He teaches us that all who trust in him will no longer remain in the dark.  Finally, He reminds us He came to give us salvation and eternal life.   In verse 48, Jesus makes it clear that those who reject Him and His message will be judged on the day of judgment.

Application:

I am learning more and more about who Jesus is as i read His Word.  I wake up and I see the hand of God in so many things!   I believe the Holy Spirit continually opens my eyes when I ask Him to reveal Himself to me.

Prayer:

Dear Lord, give me clear eyesight and vision to Your work. I want to be a shining light for You in this world. Give me energy and passion to keep that fire buring.  I pray for others who have pulled away from You for various reasons. Woo them back with Your Holy Spirit. Open their eyes to see You in everything.  I love you.

~joni

 

 

Posted on October 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

