Day 1 John 1:1-25

Welcome to our first day on the study of John.  I encourage you to first go to the reading and take notes.  I have recorded my observations of the reading and then a life application for myself.  I encourage each participate to do the same!! I will throw in occasional questions–jump in with your feedback and observations.  If you are unfamiliar with SOAP journaling, check out the above tab and watch Pastor Wayne’s video.  I absolutely don’t have formal Bible knowledge, I’m just a follower of Jesus who has discovered the joy and peace that can be found by getting into His Word and I really started growing in my faith when I began to use the SOAP format.   I’ve shared a bit more about myself on the “study leader” tab.  Also, Becky Newman will be co-leading with me and be writing some days.  She’ll introduce herself in the next week. So, let’s get started,  it’s time to read the book of John together!!

Scripture: (I will study from the NLT, feel free to read your own translation)

Today’s reading is John 1:1-25

Observations:

The beginning of John is the basis of our Christian faith.  (v.1)  “The Word already existed” and  (v.2) “He existed in the beginning with God.”  Jesus is part of the trinity, He is God. The trinity is

-God the Father

-God the Son, (Jesus)

-God the Holy Spirit

In verse 5, I see that God will ALWAYS overcome evil.  “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.”  This is so comforting to me that God will always overcome darkness.  Evil absolutely exists in this world, and sometimes God allows evil acts to occur, but ultimately, God will overthrow all evil.

My last main observation is verse 14. This is huge. “So the Word became human and made His home among us.”  This is very clearly telling us that the Word is Jesus. He is completely God and completely human.

Application:

I sort of understand the Trinity as thinking about myself being one person, but having multiple roles.  I am Joni- the mom, Joni the wife, and Joni the nurse at work.  I perform different “duties” in each role, but I am the same person with the same values.  God is always God—he works in different roles but His purpose is always the same.

My application for today is that I always need to trust the character of God because He is trustworthy.  The God who created the heavens and the earth created me and He has a purpose for my life.  I am part of His perfect plan.

Discussion question: What is your favorite verse, and why?

Prayer:

Dear Lord, this scripture reminds me that You have existed for all times. There is no beginning and You’ll reign forever.  I don’t understand why our world has so much evil and so many people suffer because of it but I do believe that someday You’ll right every wrong, every evil act.  Your light will not be extinguished by darkness.  Thank you for that hope.

Joni

Posted on October 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi y’all! I’m so excited to meet all of you! John is such a great place to start! I agree, Joni, it has all of the basics of our Christian faith. I love that the gospel of John introduces Jesus’s God nature, whereas the other gospels introduce him as a baby, in the physical sense. John doesn’t even mention the name of Jesus until verse 17, but introduces Him as The Word, with God in the beginning, was God, through Him all things were made, life, light, and world did not recognize Him. Understanding that Jesus is God can be such a sticking point of belief! That’s why John spells it out. I once was one of those questioners; I just thought Jesus was a good man. Through reading His Word and meeting with a group of ladies, God softened my heart.

    My favorite verses today–John 1:12-13. Yet to all who received Him, to those who believed in His Name, He gave the right to become children of God–children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

    I am a child of God!

    This vision comforts me and calms me, sitting here with my Father’s arms wrapped around me, the same way I snuggle my kiddos each morning when they wake up. When the day gets crazy today, I need to remember this and fall back into my Father’s arms.

    I

    Like

  2. Thanks Becky. I always come back to I am a child of God, not of this world. I find using that filter helps me when I sometimes feel like I don’t belong. I am His! I tell my kids that when we are believers, we are going to do things differently than other people. I try to remind myself that when I get hurt or disappointed by things of this world.

    Like

Leave a Response

